Reading Rampage

Crown Hills Community College is taking part in Reading Rampage 2017, a city-wide event sponsored by Leicester Libraries, Creative Learning Services and Whatever It Takes to promote reading for pleasure.

Students from Years 7 and 8 are being asked to read as many of the 20 shortlisted books as they can.
Bus Stop Baby

by Fleur Hitchcock

On her way home from school, 13-year-old Amy finds a newborn baby abandoned at the village bus stop. It's wrong, just like when Mum walked out on Amy and her sister ten years ago - so she tries to fix it, by finding the baby's mother. But as Amy searches, she uncovers another story, a secret even closer to home. A thought-provoking story exploring the complexities of family, friends and making difficult choices.

Danger Really is Everywhere

by David O'Doherty

Following a mishap involving his DANGER MOBILE (shopping trolley) and the local school dinner lady, Docter Noel Zone joins the teaching staff to help out. WARNING! BEWARE! CAUTION! But any POD (Pupil of Dangerology) knows that schools are full of DANGER - from VAMPIRE teachers to HAUNTED BOOKS! And when bikes start to go missing from around school, to Docter Noel, it's never been clearer that DANGER REALLY IS EVERYWHERE Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets The Dangerous Book for Boys.

Death on Toast

by John Townsend

Freddy's parents leave him on his own most of the time - and when they are around, they're always complaining. After learning about some deadly mushrooms in Biology, Freddie plans some tasty revenge for his neglectful, moaning parents. Fancy a slice of killer pizza, anyone? Part of the new Fresh Shades series, this is a shorter version of the original book. The Sharp Shades stories are illustrated and have simpler language and a larger font than the original book. They are perfect for older readers who may find longer books too daunting, but who still want the excitement of a great story told with pace and style.

Eddy Stone and the Epic Holiday Mash-Up

by Simon Cherry

When Eddy finds a pirate in his gran's bath, his miserable summer holiday becomes a treasure hunt! Setting sail in a ship-shaped shed, crewed by an old lady and a grumpy penguin, what could possibly stop their quest for booty? (Apart from the world's most evil shopkeeper, a man-eating beast, and the maddest, baddest villain in all the seven seas.)

Edge of Extinction

by Laura Martin

The beasts are back… Dinosaurs have reclaimed the earth, driving humans underground and only a band of teens can save the world. JURASSIC PARK meets INDIANA JONES In this thrilling new action-adventure series. Two hundred years ago, the first dinosaur was successfully cloned. Soon after, the human race realized they’d made a colossal mistake… The dregs of humanity have been driven into hiding, living in underground Compounds. Thirteen year old Sky Mundy’s father was part of the inner circle of Compound leaders until five years ago he mysteriously disappeared. Now the time has come for Sky to try and track him down. Along with her best friend Shawn, she steps out into the world above, a world of rampaging dinosaurs, but also a full of surprises, where Sky is about to learn that just about everything she’s been taught has been a lie, and the dinosaurs might not be the most dangerous predators out there Now Sky not only has to solve the mystery of her father’s disappearance – she also has to save the world.

Electric Girl

by Jo Cotterill

Holly Sparkes is just your average 12-year-old, that is, until she's hit by a bolt of lightning. Now Holly is EXTRAordinary. Like a human battery Holly can generate a massive amount of electricity in seconds, which could come in handy if she's ever going to solve the mystery of her best friend's disappearance. Because when you're dealing with the likes of Professor Macavity and her mysterious CyberSky corporation, you need all the help you can get! This exciting story includes black-and-white graphic novel style illustrations.

Fuzzy Mud

by Louis Sachar

If you go down to the woods today ... Well, every child knows NOT to, don't they? Tamaya is on a scholarship to the prestigious Woodridge Academy and every day she and seventh-grader Marshall walk to school together. They never go through the woods. And when they arrive at school they stop talking to each other - because Marshall can't be seen to be friends with a little kid like Tamaya. Especially not with Chad around. Chad-the-bully, who makes Marshall's life utterly miserable. But today, hoping to avoid Chad, Marshall and Tamaya decide to go through the woods ... And what is waiting there for them is strange, sinister and entirely unexpected.

Girl out of Water

by Nat Luurtsema

A thoroughly British teen comedy starring a hilariously flawed heroine with a quip for every occasion - perfect for fans of Holly Smale, Holly Bourne, Caitlin Moran and Sophie Kinsella. Lou Brown's life is going down the pan. Best friend Hannah sailed through the Olympic time trials and is off to her fancy-pants new swim training school, while Lou's own failure to qualify leaves her without a hobby - or a friend. As Lou tries to navigate her post-swim world, a chance encounter with three boys with stars in their eyes takes her life in a surprising new direction. One that leads to a crazy world of underwater somersaults, talent show auditions, bitchy girls and one great big load of awkward boy chat.

Super skills: How to be a Blogger & Vlogger in 10 easy lessons

by Shane Birley

So, you want to start a blog, but you’re not sure where to begin? From planning what you want to share with the world and learning how to stay safe online, to finding out the top tips for filming a vlog, this book leads the way. With easy-to-follow explanations accompanied by clear, step-by-step graphics, this title is perfect for young readers who want to start a blog from scratch. By following each lesson and giving it a go, learn the 10 super skills needed to become the next blogging sensation!

Jessicas Ghost

by Andrew Norriss

Francis has never had a friend like Jessica before. She's the first person he's ever met who can make him feel completely himself. Jessica has never had a friend like Francis before. Not just because he's someone to laugh with every day - but because he's the first person who has ever been able to see her ...Jessica's Ghost is a funny, moving and beautiful book by a master storyteller, about the power of friendship to shine a warm light into dark places.

Mega Robo Bros

by Neill Cameron

London! The Future! Alex and Freddy are just like any other brothers. They squabble. They drive their parents crazy. There's only one difference...they're the most powerful robots on earth! But Alex and Freddy will soon discover that they're not the only super-powered robots around. An evil robotic mind is making sinister plans. And their lives won't stay peaceful for much longer...

Mind Writer

by Steve Cole

Luke's always been good at knowing things. He could guess at a right answer in class or pick up on things other people couldn't. But now it's sharpened into something much more. Now Luke can actually hear people's thoughts. And there's a weird new girl hanging around who seems to know exactly what he can do. She wants something from him but can he trust her? Not everything is as it seems in this high-octane thriller, perfect for fans of Alex Rider. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 8+

OMG Blog

by Karen McCombie

Four 'good' girls meet in detention and are encouraged to take part in a school blogging competition together. Ideas are few and far between but then they realise they have one BIG thing in common and the project is born - the '(O)ur (M) ums - (G)rrr' Blog. As they pour out frustrations and niggles online, the blog gets more and more popular. But will the mums find them out? Bang-on-trend story from a hugely popular and successful author.

Raven

by Tommy Donbavand

All Poppy wants is to dye her hair jet black and be known as Raven, but her mum has been too strict since her brother disappeared. Can she find him, and a place to belong, at the same time?

Lockwood & Co: The Screaming Staircase

by Jonathan Stroud

When the dead come back to haunt the living, Lockwood & Co. step in . . . For more than fifty years, the country has been affected by a horrifying epidemic of ghosts. A number of Psychic Investigations Agencies have sprung up to destroy the dangerous apparitions. Lucy Carlyle, a talented young agent, arrives in London hoping for a notable career. Instead she finds herself joining the smallest most ramshackle agency in the city, run by the charismatic Anthony Lockwood.

Smart

by Kim Slater

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize, the Federation of Children's Book Groups Prize and longlisted for the 2015 Carnegie Medal, Kim Slater's outstanding debut, Smart, is moving and compelling novel with a loveable character at its heart. 'I found Jean's friend dead in the river. His name was Colin Kirk. He was a homeless man, but he still wanted to live.' There's been a murder, but the police don't care. It was only a homeless old man after all. Kieran cares. He's made a promise, and when you say something out loud, that means you're going to do it, for real.

The Ghost Prison

by Joseph Delaney

This is the entrance to the Witch Well and behind that door you’d face your worst nightmare. Don’t ever go through there.' Night falls, the portcullis rises in the moonlight, and young Billy starts his first night as a prison guard. But this is no ordinary prison. There are haunted cells that can’t be used, whispers and cries in the night . . . and the dreaded Witch Well. Billy is warned to stay away from the prisoner down in the Witch Well. But who could it be? What prisoner could be so frightening? Billy is about to find out . .

The Pomegranate Tree

by Vanessa Altin

'It wasn't even a proper diary...no dates or days or even 365 pages. But after this morning I'd be surprised to make it to the end of the week - so seven pages would be plenty. As we sat in the little courtyard listening to the gunfire in the streets below us, I started to write...In the summer of 2014 a black plague swept across Syria, a killer cult spreading misery and murder. Sitting in the shade of the Pomegranate Tree, we meet Dilvan, a young Kurdish girl. Through the pages of her diary, we follow her quest to find her family with a determination to fight, maybe even to die - but never to surrender.

Where Monsters Lie

by Polly Ho-Yen

The children of Mivtown have grown up hearing the legend of the monsters of the loch. But it’s only a story – a warning to stay away from the water. Then strange things start happening in the village. Effie’s rabbit Buster escapes from a locked hutch, her mum disappears without trace and slugs start to infest her home. Along with her best friend Finn, Effie begins to hunt for clues to solve the mysteries of Mivtown. Could this all be connected to the legend? Is it really just a story or is there something lurking in those deep, dark waters?

Wings ; Flyboy

by Tom Palmer

Jatinder seems to be living his dream - he's training for his team's youth squad, and his host parents Steve and Esther are really great. But something's holding Jatinder back from being a really great footballer - himself. Steve reckons it's OK to take risks - look at his own hero, Hardit Singh Malik. That night Jatinder wakes up in a seriously surprising situation - flying Hardit's WWI fighter plane into enemy airspace. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 8+


Crown Hills Community College

Gwendolen Road

Leicester

LE5 5FT

Telephone: 0116 2736893

Fax: 0116 2730413

Office Manager Mrs S. Harrison

To email the college, click here


© 2013 – 2017 Crownhills Community College